It is currently Mon May 06, 2024 2:08 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: loading and unloading
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:16 pm 
Team Axis

Hey guys... i know this is a total noob question (mainly because i am a total noob) but i was just curious about how everybody is loading and unloading their boat. the dealer didnt really go in depth on the subject so if somebody wouldnt mind taking a quick video and maybe explainig any little tips or tricks they have picked up that would be awesome.

thanks
kohlieo

Post subject: Re: loading and unloading
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:43 pm 
Team Axis

There's a good discussion on the topic here (with a video) - http://www.themalibucrew.com/forums/ind ... n-trailer/. And another video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1ESbZTXAO0 - this ones a bit general, but it may help you built a checklist.

For our first boat I carried a checklist of all the steps (plugs, blower, straps, etc) just to make sure I did everything right.

I also aways keep the winch strap and safety chain on when the boat isn't in the water. I see some going down the ramp without the strap (and it almost seems to be the case in the one video on the Malibu thread), but I've also helped someone push their boat on because it slipped off too soon.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:14 am 
Team Axis

good discussion as referenced above by dave. I have read that and am in the super minority when loading and unloading.
This is what I do, for what it's worth.

Unloading:

prepare area (if you have one). Turn on battery, turn on blower, check that both drain plugs are in (transom and t handle midship), unhook all straps.